GFHC (Good Fucking Health Care): The Launch

I have been working in the healthcare industry for over 15 years.

I have had the privilege in working for several of the major stakeholders within healthcare. The stakeholders that I commonly refer to as the 5P’s. The patients, physicians, payers, policy makers, and the pharmaceutical and medical technology companies.

I have worked as a practice manager for physician groups. I have worked for hospital and healthcare organizations as a manager, an executive director and even as a VP for service lines at the corporate level.

I have designed, built, opened and ran 2 hospitals and more than 6 cancer centers here in the U.S.

I have worked with investment teams to build, implement, and deliver models of care in places like China, Spain, Russia, and Dubai.

I have developed new payment models leveraging “big data” and gaining preferred status with payers.

I currently work for a major medical technology company developing medical equipment for the globe.

I always find it interesting amongst all of those experiences how they measure success in healthcare. It is often based on time and dollars and less about meeting patient expectations.

I have always been a catalyst in making change happen.

To be the first.

To try something different.

To find a way to use healthcare’s “his-story” to my advantage to pave a new pathway to deliver something that truly is meaningful, and always beginning with defining the problems from the patient’s perspective.

What drives me is observing and seeing the scorecard of healthcare from a patient’s perspective. (like the following 2 examples from 2008 & 2013)

In 2008 I noticed that the average turnaround time in the U.S. to go from “I think I have cancer” to “..here are my treatment options” was more than 12 business days.

Why?

It was mainly due to physicians fighting on who “owns” the patient’s journey, who would be communicating the diagnosis to a patient, who would get the revenue, and who would be able to direct the patient’s care.

As I spoke to hundreds of patients I found that they wanted to know why and what in a time frame that they set.

I recruited a team and we developed a program that could deliver a diagnosis and treatment within 3 business days or less, or longer, all based on the patient’s expectations.

In 2013 my father was diagnosed with cancer.

After his passing, I went back and reviewed his healthcare scorecard to find the following:

19 days
14 days without a diagnosis
8 biopsies
7 different physicians
4 discussions on cost
4 emails with physicians
3 calls debating next steps with physicians
3 lesions identified
3 imaging studies
3 scrapped treatment plans
2 90 minute drives
1 denied imaging study
1 stent

My father was fortunate enough to have my mother who is a nurse to help guide him. My father had me helping him navigate since I knew the healthcare system and many of the physicians.

My father was one of the lucky patients.

He had people that knew the system, that could articulate his expectations and ensure that he was heard.

My father was able to live his last 6 weeks at home and die gracefully.

Most people cannot get a simple answer about their blood work, or their imaging exam, or about how much their medication is going to cost.

“We have moved so far away from the people in our communities that they have no fucking clue what matters to them.”

We use metrics that measure efficiency, productivity, utilization, improving ROI’s, increasing RVU’s, and maximizing our bottom line.

The words we use to measure success in healthcare has more to do with building cars and widgets than it does caring for people.

The words we use build a healthcare that scales mediocrity and no longer produces Lamborghini’s. Healthcare now produces Geos. We receive a cheap product that generates revenue for the “big bosses” but doesn’t produce the value or delight defined by people as patients.

We turned our greatest minds into nothing more than obedient workers smart enough to follow the rules, run the machines, and file the paper work yet dumb enough to passively accept less money, higher premiums, higher deductibles, less retirement, and average healthcare.

I hear phrases like patient experience, engagement, and empowerment.

Yet healthcare doesn’t really want a person to be engaged in their care. Healthcare wants to capture people as patients that will follow the rules, follow the instructions, and follow the assembly line to produce average care.

This is the deeply seeded root cause with healthcare.

The Great Healthcare Status Quo.

I am taking action once again.

I am launching a new agency called Good Fucking Health Care.

An agency dedicated to changing the status quo of healthcare.

An agency that will strategize, collaborate and work with those individuals, professional societies, hospital(s), organizations, and corporate entities that want to make healthcare great.

Organizations that want to deliver good fucking healthcare.

Organizations that are willing to let us guide them in breaking the rules, ignoring the instruction manual, and in disassembling the factory of medicine to deliver care at the N of 1.

Yes, the name is edgy.

Yes, the name may be offensive to some.

Yes, some may fear interacting, working, or even being seen on the same page or in the same room with us.

That is okay.

GFHC Co. is an agency that wants to work with those individuals, professionals, societies, hospitals, and corporate entities that want to return to the nostalgia of healthcare by focusing on the “Me” in “decine.”

To measure our success by the patients we impact and not just the dollars and cents.

Working with those physicians and healthcare professionals that are willing to do something risky, something that may not always work, and going back to practicing the art of healing.

We want to work with those healthcare professionals that want to take the time to listen, observe, understand, and connect with patients.

I am signing my name to something that is risky.

I am going to be doing work that is personal, emotional, and that will be measured in the number of lives I impact in communities around the world.

I hope you will understand my intent, my purpose, and most importantly, my “why”.

If you want to change the status quo of healthcare, feel free to let me know. I am fast at work with some of our initial clients.

Together we can work to deliver care at the N of 1.

Together we can make good fucking healthcare for patients.

~Andy

Feel free to email me at cancergeek@gmail.com or follow me on Twitter @cancergeek and make sure to check out our launch GFHC.co

~Cancergeek

Leave a Reply

