Why Do I Wear Red?

(photo: 2014 Nike Air Max)

During a recent Q&A session during one of my recent healthcare talks I was asked by a participant why I wear red? (I was wearing a red sport coat, red shoes, and walked in with a red backpack)

I paused, smiled, and told them why I have an affinity for all things red.

In the fall of 2013 my father was diagnosed with stage 4 metastatic pancreatic cancer. One of the last items he bought for me was a pair of red Nike Air Max running shoes. He purchased them as part of my birthday present.

A few weeks later my father turned 69. A week after that my father passed. His funeral was adorned with red roses and red carnations. Both of which where his favorite flowers and color.

As my father passed I made the decision that I was not going to wear the shoes. Ever.

I was going to keep them unworn, unused, and in the box.

The shoes have become this reminder to me, of my father, his love, and my quest to make an impact in this world.

Since that time I have unconsciously (or maybe consciously) had an affinity to the color red.

My winter coat is red. My favorite sport coat is red. My backpack is red. My phone case is red. I have red chuck taylors. I have red Adidas Superstars. I have red bow ties. I have red trousers. I have red lapel pins. I even purcahsed a red fountain pen to go with my red notebook. I am addicted to Diet Coke because I prefer the red on the can. (well my father like Coke but I dont need the calories)

The simple answer is: I wear red because it reminds me of my father. It reminds me of our relationship. It reminds me of his struggles, his experiences, his sacrifices. It reminds me of his advice. It reminds me of one mans unconditional love that transcends time and space and envelops me each day.

I wear red to be close to my dad.

Care happens at the N of 1.

As always you can feel free to email me at cancergeek@gmail.com or follow me on Twitter @cancergeek

~Cancergeek

Leave a Reply

