A Tribe, Diabetes, and Healthcare

Today I awoke to news that Phife Dawg, Malik Taylor, of A Tribe Called Quest passed away. Although the details around his death at the age of 45 are not announced, I would not be surprised to hear that it is due to complications of Type 1 Diabetes or his subsequent kidney transplant.

While Phife, along with Q-Tip and Ali Shaheed, had a successful career on stage and in the recording studio as A Tribe Called Quest, he struggled with his off stage battle with Type 1 Diabetes.

Phife Dawg was known for his social storytelling, quick wit, and self deprecation. He referred to himself as the 5 Foot Assassin, as well as his ironic nickname as the Funky Diabetic.

I can remember the first time I heard Can I Kick It. I was hooked. It was this melodic syncopated rhythm full of wit, intelligence, fun, and emotion. It was the updated version of Jack Kerouac and Alen Ginsberg. It was my generations version of Beatniks. It was my very own Howl.

I am a child of hip hop. It was the thing that drove me to love literature, art, music, culture, and most of all, to listen to other people.

Hip hop. Poetry in motion.

The lyrical carnival of allowing emotions to be transformed into words like a roller coaster full of twists, loops, hills, drops, and sudden stops. Taking a billion combinations of letters to form words to transport us to a different dimension that allows us to connect on a deeper level, universally, independent of color, creed, social status or affiliations. Connecting in love.

A real tribe.

As you can tell in my own writing….I write as I think and speak, from the heart. I have to be in the flow. I allow the passion to direct the keys I strike. I rarely, if ever, proof read. I find editing erases the intent and emotion…it loses the meaning.

Editing is when the voice loses to the banter.

So I just write, post, and walk away.

I had to write this…to say thank you.

Thank you to Phife for providing inspiration in my life. I may not be the 5 Foot Assassin, but I am me.

My intent is to listen to patients, to stop the Buggin Out and understand the various Scenario inside and out of healthcare. I will help to Find A Way to push healthcare and Keeping It Moving so that patients and physicians are no longer Stressed Out or document like a Description Of A Fool. Together patients and physicians will create a new set of rules for health and care creating a Vivrant Thing that is an Award Tour for us all. (if you don’t get the genius in what I just wrote, check this out: A Tribe Called Quest )

“I dare do all that may be man, who does more is none.”

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

Leave a Reply

