Building Patient Experience In China

knowledge-vs-experience

As I am working on building the first of 25 cancer centers in China, I ran into a disagreement this week with some of the team on the other side of the pond.

One of the many disagreements is specific to “patient experience” topics.

I was told by the design team in China that scenic views during a patients treatment is not important. It is more important for researchers to be able to see nature than it is for patients.

I had to verify this assumption.

In speaking to several of my Mandarin speaking friends, one of whom happens to be an ethnographic researcher, she told me that the assumption about patient expectations was false.

Again, this is another example where experts in an industry make assumptions about people. Many times people doing the work are trying to convey expertise and stories that they believe those paying the bills want to hear.

The design firm believes that since we (me) am paying the bill, that my expectation is for the staff of researchers to be able to have nice offices with views of the sea and parks.

I see this often in many of the projects I get to collaborate on in healthcare. (not just specific to cancer, but across the healthcare continuum)

My need to be obsessive about listening and understanding the communities we serve is what truly allows us to design and deliver multiple choices for people to choose their own version of an ideal patient experience.

Experience is exactly that, it is a choice made at the N of 1.

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

Leave a Reply

