The Battlefield Of Healthcare

I happened to be driving home last night when a classic song came on the radio: Love Is A Battlefield by Pat Benatar.

It made me stop and think that the same could be said for healthcare.

There is the obvious conflict between the 5P’s: Patient, Physician, Payer, Politician, and Pharma. Everyone wants to ensure they have the most leverage, the least amount of risk, and the most margin and dollars in the bank.

Both of us knowing this is a battlefield.

Many times there are no promises, no demands.

Yet there are heartaches.

Heartaches over the right treatment, the right test, the right diagnosis, the right treatment, the right price. Heartaches over trust.

We get begged to go (for screening, annual appointments, when we are sick)

Then making me making me stay (for surgeries, more imaging exams, more lab work, etc)

Why do you hurt me so bad? (nosocomial infections, days out of work, away from my support system)

It would help me to know (how to care for myself at home, to reduce my risk for getting sick, or how much this is going to cost, and why you are recommending this treatment)

Do I stand in your way? (as a person that becomes a patient, I hope that I can have your undivided attention)

Or am I the best thing you’ve had? (if you give me your time, I will give you my trust, and you can have a share of my wallet)

If you share your love in caring for people with me, I promise to share my love in wanting to go back to my normal daily activity. I will share that love with my community and tell them how wonderful you are as a physician.

With a little more love, a lot more empathy, we can turn this battlefield of healthcare into something meaningful that connects all of us.

A field of humans.

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

One response to “The Battlefield Of Healthcare

  1. Humanity departed the health care/sick care system long ago. If you look back 30 years or so, physician (particularly surgical) arrogance meant that they paid no heed to the need for change. Surgeons thought they knew it all. Turns out they didn’t.

    MBAs fresh out of school thought they saw a better way. PPOs and other groups took over the management of health care, and it turned into a business. Any business that makes money attracts lawyers and politicians. Now, with lawyers and politicians squared off against doctors, profitability (much less humanity) is plummeting. This is not looking pretty! And let’s not forget Pharma, which has insinuated itself into the political, legal and medical systems for its own benefit.

    I think we need a new system. But I suspect the above cycle will simply rinse and repeat. It’s simply human.

Leave a Reply

