The Anatomy Of Trust

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 2.37.55 PMAs Dr. Rasu Shrestha (@RasuShrestha) observed it is interesting that users will trust health apps more than their doctors.

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 2.38.25 PM

As Dr. Matt Keener (@keenzai) highlighted, trust is relative.

Which made me refer to my own research and development of the 4T’s: Time, Trust, Transparency, Transitions for healthcare. I wanted to share with the tribe the important work done by Dr. Brene Brown entitled the Anatomy of Trust.

What I particularly like about the work, facts, and thoughts that Dr. Brene Brown shares is its applicability to patients, physicians, the world of healthcare, and the My Ideal Patient Experience.

She highlights the fact that trust is not only the absence of lies, deceit, and betrayal but is earned over time. Trust must be nurtured, built up, and protected.

She uses the following metaphor: BRAVING (video here)

B: Boundaries

R: Reliability (the say-do factor)

A: Accountability (when a mistake is made we admit, we own, and we make amends)

V: Vault (what I share with you will be held in confidence and vice versa)

I: Integrity (Choosing courage over comfort; choosing right over what’s fun, fast, or easy; practicing our values over just professing them)

N: Non-judgement (being to not just give help, but to ask for help when we need it)

G: Generosity (giving the benefit of the doubt; you can assume the most generous thing of me, and I of you)

This is the basis for all interactions between patients and physicians.

Health Apps are relevant. So are patients and physicians.

Designing an ecosystem connecting patients and physicians while leveraging Health Apps is Shangri-La.

If you need help co-creating and designing your own version of Shangri-La, drop me a note at www.myidealptexp.com

I enjoy “BRAVING” new worlds. Will you be brave and build one with me?

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

Leave a Reply

