Healthcare Leaders, Thanks For Your Feedback!

Complaints

Earlier this week I participated in the weekly #HCLDR tweet chat (transcript). The topic this week was all about “Flipping The Complaint” in healthcare. (post here)

One of the key questions discussed was Topic 3: How have you learned from complaints you have received?

One of my comments was that I always ask for feedback. I want to know that my intent matched my story, and if I miss, or if the perception varies, then listening to feedback helps me to understand how to improve.

Little did I know that 24 hours later I would be in an ironic situation.

thumbs up thumbs downI posted an article late last night highlighting a tweet.

The tweet came from someone I deeply respect, and it was meant to highlight a “positive” fact. I wanted to demonstrate how a fact sent out by someone that is deeply respected could be an opportunity for an organization. If the organization could add context, content, and the right story they could bring additional meaning and value to their patients, their community, and their tribe.

feedback

I was informed that even though my intent was good, that my story missed its mark. So as a professional courtesy, I removed the post.

Which reminded me of Tuesday’s #HCLDR conversation, “Flip The Complaint.”

I realize that I will not always be perfect in my storytelling. I realize that my point of view will not always be understood, be supported, acknowledged, or liked by everyone.

I realize that I can be thought provoking, I can be challenging, and that my lens does not always agree with the “insiders” of healthcare.

I am not here to please everyone. I am here to ask the difficult questions. To push boundaries. I am here to help think outside our normal lens of healthcare and to pull in the lens of patients, the lens of other industries, and the lens from a global perspective. I am here to change the status quo, one patient at a time.

In order to be a change agent, a student of “Health and Care Radicals,” I realize that feedback is necessary, mandatory, and needed. I know that I need to listen to all of it. I may not need to take action with every piece of feedback, but fI need to listen to it. Feedback is what will ensure that I always tie my daily work directly back to patients. Feedback will help to measure my ability to make the right change at the right time.

Thank you.

Thank you to my tribe. Thank you to those that take the time to read. Thank you to those that care enough to provide comments, send emails, and leave feedback. Thank you to the patients, the physicians, healthcare organizations, and the payers that have been bold enough to let me question everything, and design new models with improved patient impact.

Thank you for caring enough to leave feedback.

Feedback matters.

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

Leave a Reply

