Healthcare + Ruckusmakers = It Matters

AD and Seth

The weekend of March 6-8th I had the privilege of joining 78 other individuals in Hastings on the Hudson for a workshop with Seth Godin. He assembled people from all over the world, all walks of life, with various projects, to join together and share in a weekend of collaboration.

We were all knighted as #Ruckusmakers

I was blown away to be in such proximity to one of the people that has inspired me for so many years. I was in awe of the other #Ruckusmakers and all of their projects, work, and achievements.

My personal project was something I have been working on since MedX, called: 4 Degrees of Care. On Saturday afternoon I was speaking to Seth and he asked, “What is your ultimate goal?”

My response, “To make as big of an impact in the lives of patients around the world as I can.”

In which Seth responded to me and said,

“Then why consider doing something on your own? You have a day job that offers you scale. Your project is not generating a new business. Your project needs to focus on how you use your position to generate an opportunity to impact the lives of people globally.”

I stopped in my tracks. I paused and began to think about his response. His words. He offered a few examples for me to consider.

For the rest of the afternoon and evening I began to think about my new project.

Can I really do this? Am I capable of making it happen? Does the lens I view the world through provide meaning and value to healthcare? To patients? To providers? To payers? To those in politics? Does my ability to connect with all stakeholders offer my the opportunity to make changes that patients and families will feel?

I paused and thought about something else I shared with Seth on Saturday. I told Seth that there are 3 people that I have relied on to remind me that my voice matters.

My father, who passed away in November of 2013.

Paulo Coelho, the author of The Alchemist.

Seth Godin.

I went to my backpack to grab my laptop and do some writing. I picked up the book that I asked Seth to sign for me. I opened the book up and found the following:

It Matters

It was just the sign, message, and reminder I needed at that very moment.

My voice does matter. The lens I observe the world through matters. The way I connect those stories to other people matters.

I decided at that very moment to take a page out of Seth’s many books:

I choose myself.

We all have a choice. We can wait for someone to come along and choose us, or we can first decide to choose ourselves. When we decide to choose ourselves we immediately change the balance of power. We change our world view.

Instead of being an outsider looking in, we now become the insider looking out. We begin to realize that,

“People like us, do things like this.”

Today I am sharing this epiphany with the one or many people that may read this post. I challenge you to choose yourself. Pick your own project. Do the work. Ship it.

I may be a single drop of water in the middle of the ocean. In choosing myself I hope there are others that share my world views, my voice, and will join me in this tribe. I will be the drop that causes a ripple that will be felt throughout the entire ocean.

Someone has to start the change.

I choose me. Will you join me?

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

2 responses to “Healthcare + Ruckusmakers = It Matters

  1. You may already be a member of the Society for Participatory Medicine, http://www.participatorymedicine.org. This is a group of people from all backgrounds who are working in a myriad of ways to improve our medical system. We often describe it as the civil rights movement for patients, which seems to encompass the range of actions, small and large, which drive the changes you write of. Join us, add to the dialogue and be part of the sea change that is happening right now.

    • Thanks Peggy. I am currently not a member of the group but I am well aware of the work that they do. I think it is incredibly important. I would love to become more involved, so if it is simply filling out the application, I will do that this weekend. If there are other ways I can become more involved, please let me know. Thank you! Andy

Leave a Reply

