The Commodity of Time

Clock

Time. All of us have time. All of us want time. Time is a commodity. Time is the most precious commodity that all of us have.

“Time is free, but it is priceless.

You cannot own it, but you can use it.

You cannot keep it, but you can spend it.

Once you have lost time, you can never get it back.”     (~Harvey Mackay)

From family, friend, social, professional, on-line, or even healthcare settings, time is the one thing that all of us have, that all of us want, and that is difficult for all of us to give.

It is a series of trade-offs. If I do this, then I do not have time to do that. Remember that when someone gives you their time, it means that they are choosing to not do something else. They are choosing you.

Pay attention. Listen. Ask questions. Be present and in the moment.

Especially in healthcare, all any of us want is time.

P.S. Thank you for taking the time to read my post, my blog, and my thoughts on twitter. I always try to say thank you and recognize that you could decide to do a million other things, but you decided to interact with me. I appreciate it. It means the world to me. Thank you. Happy #PiDay

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

One response to “The Commodity of Time

  1. Pingback: Trust Is Something We Give To Healthcare | CancerGeek

Leave a Reply

