Does Anyone Swear In Healthcare?

We are all aware of the fact that words create worlds.

I have worked in hospitals and clinics, both in the community setting as well as in large healthcare systems. I have worked as a consultant. I have worked on the vendor side of the healthcare industry. I have worked with government agencies devoted to healthcare.

In all of the above workplace situations, I have witnessed that everyone swears.

It can be a board member or a CEO. It can be a direct manager or someone that directly reports to you. It can be a colleague having a bad day. It can be a physician, a nurse, a technician, or an assistant. It could be that high priced consultant or the overpaid sales representative. It could even be a patient.

We have all been in situations and witnessed swearing. I will admit, even I swear. (but only when I am not wearing a bow tie, which is very rarely)

It made me pause and think about the use of profanity in healthcare. It is there, but it is hidden.

So here are a few poll questions that I have.

I would love for you to take the time and answer the 4 questions as part of my social experiment. I promise to share responses….and the brilliance behind my questions at a later date.

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

Leave a Reply

