Ebola: Humanity Can Go A Long Way

humanity

Humanity is defined as the quality or state of being human; the quality or state of being kind to other people or animals.

I am amazed with the humanity of nurses, physicians, and other healthcare professionals in the wake of Ebola. Programs such as Doctors Without Borders have many courageous men and women volunteering to face terrible conditions so they may care for their fellow human beings.

Yet with the focus and hyper sensitivity to Ebola there is a lot of finger pointing, name blame, and hysteria. Some blame hospitals and their administrators, some blame the front line care providers. There is also blame placed onto government leaders from the President on down to Health and Human Services, the Federal Aviation Association, and others.

However, the simple fact is that all of us are human. Most of us have access to information. Residing in that information are a few simple tidbits that we can turn into knowledge. All we need to do is stop, listen, think, and take action.

The full list of signs and symptoms of Ebola can be viewed at the CDC site here: CDC Ebola Signs and Symptoms

Most importantly, is that signs and symptoms usually take between 2-21 days to appear. Typically those signs and symptoms will show up within 8-10 days.

So why are we relying on governments, federal agencies, and others to do something that should be part of our own moral obligation to one another?

If we happen to knowingly be in a situation in which we may be exposed or at risk of being exposed to Ebola, we should consciously remove ourselves from daily activities.

We should voluntarily quarantine ourselves for 21 days.

I do travel globally. I have not been to Liberia, Guinea, or Sierra Leone. In the event I would ever be fortunate enough to visit one of those destinations, and this was still occurring, I would gladly perform the exercise myself.

If giving up 21 days means that I can ensure the safety of my friends, my family, my co-workers, strangers, and others than I would gladly take that action.

My story is not about me, but about the positive impact I can make in the lives of others. I want my story to be about my humanity.

I encourage all of us to do a little less finger pointing and a little more looking in the mirror.

A little humanity can go a long way. Maybe even all the way to Sierra Leone.

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

#PtExp  #hcldr #hccosts #hcsm #stories #storytelling #humanity #ebola #hcmktg #mktg #storyteller
Leave a Reply

