Healthcare: Most Technologically Advanced Hospital System

A vast majority of the healthcare leaders that I meet with always lead with technology. “We want to be the most technologically advanced healthcare system.”

My response, “That’s great. What are your plans 6 months after you purchase and install your new cutting edge technology?”

The responses vary greatly after this question.

My recommendation, “Deliver care in a multidisciplinary fashion to the patients you serve and are responsible for in your community.”

Everyone says they want technology. In practice, what we want is a team to focus on patient issues and provide the right care, for the right diagnosis, at the right time, and at the right price.

This is how you differentiate stories in healthcare.

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

#PtExp #PX #cancer #hcldr #hccosts #hcsm #stories #storytelling #lcsm #bcsm #hcmktg #mktg #storyteller #hcpt #consumerism #hcbiz #CX #UX #UI #Bioethx #storytelling #stories #ContentMarketing #HIT #PX2014 #moodring #ring #health #wellness
5 responses to “Healthcare: Most Technologically Advanced Hospital System

  1. I know everybody wants the best, biggest, newest, more advanced machine. But those machines come at a huge cost. Back when I was working in Critical Care units – 70s and 80s – one hospital would buy a new piece of equipment, then every hospital in the area would go out and buy the new and improved version. My question then, and now, is why doesn’t each hospital decide where they will specialize, get together with the other hospitals, and share the cost of one piece of equipment in one hospital. The next hospital would buy a different machine – and so on. Hospitals could pool resources and send their patients to whatever hospital has the equipment for whatever the physician wants to find out. I’m sure there would be kinks to iron out, but this makes so much more sense to me. Maybe I’m just crazy. πŸ˜€

    • Ruth, I absolutely agree with your comments and line of thinking. That is actually going to be my follow up this week to this very post. It is my opinion that the one thing that limits this possibility is our own human nature of greed. We want it all and we do not want to share. I love it. Thanks!!

  2. This is the kind of collaboration which is sorely needed, and done properly, will keep all services available. It is certainly dangerous for any one institution to attempt to do all things, as that is impossible. The big shiny toys are easy to talk about and show off on billboards. Collaboration and coordination require far more thought and a long term commitment to service and innovation.

    • Peggy, I completely agree with your comments. It is easy to buy items, but takes more time, thought, and planning to develop a culture that delivers the right care model for each community served. Thanks!!

  3. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog
    loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

