Healthcare: “Will You Be My Friend Today?”

Prior to reading this post, you need to refer to the 7.29.2014 blog post via @Colin_Hung on the #HCLDR Blog entitled: ” Are Social Media Relationships Different? Implications For Patients?” (click on title)

The main question being posed to the participants of the Tweet Chat was if relationships via #SoMe are different than relationships that exist in face-to-face.

As most topics from #HCLDR, this one inspired me to have a followup conversation with one of my colleagues, Katie. (@cornfedirish) We started to discuss relationships and the complexities that relationships posses both in an online community or in a face-to-face setting.

Our biggest conclusion came with the following: #SoMe allows us to refer back to the days of being a child. The days in which our conversations were open, transparent, honest, and inquisitive. The days in which it all began with a simple questions to a complete stranger, “Will you be my friend today?”

#SoMe simplifies connecting people to one another. As long as you are interested in a topic, open to varying opinions, it is as simple as asking, “Will you be my friend today?”

In healthcare this should be easy. We meet new people on a daily basis, who seek our compassion in their time of need or discomfort. Yet, how often do we stop to ask, “Will you be my friend today?” Almost never.

For me personally, I am making a commitment during my travels, my work, the conferences I attend, and in my daily routine to stop a total stranger and simply ask, “Will you be my friend today?”

We all have a story to share. Why not share your story with someone new? Why not learn a new story from a different person every day? Is the notion of developing a new friend that daunting?

I challenge you to go back to the story of your childhood. To be simple. To be inquisitive enough to ask a total stranger, “Will you be my friend today?”

Here’s the call to action:

Walk up to someone you don’t know

Ask them, “Will you be my friend today?”

Share your story, ask them to share their story with you.

Tweet/Instagram a picture or comment and add the hashtag #friend2day

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

#PtExp #PX #cancer #hcldr #hccosts #hcsm #stories #storytelling #lcsm #bcsm #hcmktg #mktg #storyteller #hcpt #consumerism #hcbiz #CX #UX #UI #Bioethx #storytelling #stories #ContentMarketing #HIT #PX2014 #friend2day
One response to “Healthcare: “Will You Be My Friend Today?”

  1. Contrary to the prevailing belief that relationships made online can only be superficial I have discovered kindred spirits I would never have had the opportunity to connect with otherwise. I really love your analogy of going back to childhood – I never thought of it like that before – but then isn’t that the great thing about social media – so many opportunities each day to say “I never thought of it like that before”. Looking forward to meeting you in “real life” next month Andy.

Leave a Reply

