Patient Engagement: A Mirror And A Story May Drive Adoption

In my free time I have been working with healthcare organizations, professional societies, and academic groups to build the voice of the patient and patient perspectives into the work that these healthcare groups are focusing on.

One of the biggest challenges  in healthcare is driving adoption. Simply how does a medical establishment get a community of non-healthcare people to understand the importance of screening, exercise, sleep, nutrition, and making better choices overall?

In my experience, it is about developing a story that is simple to understand, is emotional, and is shared where people are located, and in the language/format that the specific community currently uses.

Which made me consider how we could best drive the education, importance, and how to access screening for lung cancer in our communities.

Then inspiration hit me. I recalled a brilliant piece of work developed by Dave Werner. (@okaysamurai) The specific project I am referring to is entitled Reflect/Respect. (his original website is located here)

I spoke to Dave in 2006 to use his concept in one of my cancer centers.

I reached out to Dave again today and asked if I would be able to use his concept once more. Dave graciously gave me his blessing.

What I envision is to have the same mirror concept, set in a public setting, such as a mall, coffee shop, or maybe even the local Walgreen’s, CVS, Walmart.

Some mirror pieces may be large in scale, some may be reduced to a single mirror or two, based on placement.

As one looks into the mirror, one would see their own image, information on lung cancer screening, risk factors, incidence, and where to go locally for a lung cancer screen. I would like a QR Code, Bar Code, or other smart phone type of application that allows a person to make an appointment or have someone contact them for additional information.

I propose that there is one “mirror” that allows one to touch it, print off the information to take with them, or to send it to their smart phone, Facebook, email, or home address. This magic mirror would also allow one to locate the nearest location for lung screening and allow one to schedule the appointment as they stand in front of the mirror.

I even suggest that maybe we create a hashtag to coincide with this social object. (social object is a term that I am borrowing from Hugh MacLeod @gapingvoid)

Please feel free to leave feedback on whether or not you think this is a good idea. Do you support it? Do you think it will help to spread the importance and the message? Do you think it will increase the number of people that will actually get screened for lung cancer? Is it simple and easy enough to use?

Is this the right story to help impact people at risk for lung cancer?

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

#PtExp #PX #cancer #hcldr #hccosts #hcsm #stories #storytelling #lcsm #bcsm #hcmktg #mktg #storyteller #hcpt #consumerism #hcbiz #CX #UX #UI #Bioethx #storytelling #stories #ContentMarketing #HIT #PX2014
5 responses to “Patient Engagement: A Mirror And A Story May Drive Adoption

  1. Fantastic idea. I think it would be very effective at encouraging people to get screened. Seeing a reflection of yourself with cancer facts overlaying your own image would be very powerful.

  2. This is brilliant! I think it will be an incredibly powerful way to get the message across! Fantastic idea!

  3. I’ve thought of that and here’s what I’ve created. I am not a fan of most classic
    lit.

Leave a Reply

