Hey Healthcare, It’s Not All About You…

For the past 2 days I have been locked up in a conference room with 10 other team members. We have had the chance to review 2013 and plan for 2014. We have had a chance to laugh, build relationships, and share stories. However, the one thing that each of us struggles with is having a dialogue with all of the regions around the globe. (US, Latin America, China, Asia-Pacific, India, Middle East and Eastern Europe, and Western Europe)

As I was sitting at my desk and reviewing my notes from the discussion it made me think about healthcare.

Why is healthcare challenged in having a conversation with their consumers?

To me it is very similar to my own challenge in working with team members across the globe.

I sit in a centrally located setting. I work on projects that we in the crystal palace deem to be important. Upon completion, we send out the information to regions. At times I call on the regions for information and I need them to do it on an emergent basis. It’s all about me. Bleh.

Sounds a lot like healthcare in the United States.

Healthcare websites, Facebook pages, twitter accounts are all about taking their message and broadcasting it to anyone that will listen. Most of the information discusses new certification, awards, events, new physicians that have joined. It’s all about why they think they are great.

I seldom hear or read a story. If I do it is 99.999999% of the time a good story. Why not be bold and create more stories. If you want to engage us as consumers, you need to share stories with me that provide value and meaning. In my terms. When I want them. Even a bad story can tell a positive tale if you show that you learned, made corrective action, and made it matter to me.

Personally in my job, I schedule calls that are convenient to those that I work with around the globe. It means 9pm calls for me so that I can talk to people in China in the morning. Or a call at 6am so I can accommodate a busy schedule of my friends in India. I do my best not to start my conversations with what it is I need, but more of what can I do to help you and your teams. I also own the things I do not know or when I have conflicting priorities and cannot meet their timelines. I ask questions. I listen. I apologize. I make it about my audience. It’s not about me at all.

Healthcare Experience Officers, COO’s, Medical Officers, and Marketing Officers-you need to stop and think beyond your 4 walls. Tell more stories. It’s what matters the most to me and the rest of your audience. I want to hear not so good ones too. Why? Because I know life happens and if you can show me your humanity and how you learned, you own my loyalty. I want it to be about me. Make it matter.

Maybe it’s a stretch. However, I think it’s a great stretch for 2014.

As always, you can feel free to contact me at: CANCERGEEK@GMAIL.COM or follow me on twitter @cancergeek

~CancerGeek

#PtExp #PX #cancer #hcldr #hccosts #hcsm #stories #storytelling #lcsm #bcsm #hcmktg #mktg #storyteller #hcpt #consumerism #hcbiz #CX #UX 
Leave a Reply

